Time Flies When You Are Having Fun

Today is the last day of school for the first nine weeks and time for fall break. As we get ready for a 4 day weekend, that includes a camping trip for me, I wanted to reflect a little on how the year has started out.

First: It has gone by incredibly fast. It is so hard to believe our first quarter is done already. I seems like it was yesterday when school was getting ready to start, and now a fourth of it is over. They say time flies when you are having fun, and I do believe that. I try to have fun every day when I come to school. If I cannot have fun, why do it. I like to go out and see the kids in the halls and classes and have fun with them. Some of the best times are at lunch when we get to talk about things that are not related to school. We get to talk about interests outside of school. A time to get to know the kids for who they are and let them see us for who we are. I do not subscribe to the old adage of not letting them see you smile until November. Our students see me smile on the first day of school and hopefully every day after that because I am glad they are here. It is our job to make the learning fun for the students!

Second: Our district started a 1:1 initiative this year with all the high school students receiving chromebooks. It has been fun to see how the different teachers, and students, are using the new technology to enhance learning. Teachers that I thought would have a difficult time finding a use for them are excelling at their use and value in the classroom. The efforts of the teachers and students to learn something new have been so refreshing to me. The excitement they have when they find something new to use in class is very contagious. I look forward to seeing what all of them will find to use next.

I feel very fortunate to be in the school I am in. I am surrounded by great teachers that truly enjoy their jobs and their students. I am surrounded by students that by in large put forth their best efforts every day. I am also surrounded by a community of parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc that care deeply about the successes of the school and the students that attend here.

I look forward to the fall break as we get ready to end the day. Not as an escape from the job, but as a time to relax and get ready for the next quarter.

Until next time…………..enjoy yourself so that time will fly

Published by

Tom Stoner

Christian, Principal, Husband, Father, Grandfather. I enjoy fishing, camping, reading, golf, and spending time with family (not necessarily in that order)

Leave a Reply

