Why I Lead #SAVMP

15 years ago I started my teaching career. It was actually my third career. I was a manager in a grocery store for a while, and then I was a department scheduler in a factory for a few years. With the experience I had had in management before I started teaching, I thought I may want to become a principal some day, I just did not know when. I had no time frame on it, I was going to wait until the time felt right. After 10 years in the classroom teaching middle school math, I felt the time was right for me to move on to the next challenge.

So why do I lead? For me, I do not lead because I want the power or to be out in front of everyone else. It is actually quite the opposite for me. I lead because I like to help others. For me being a principal gives me the opportunity to let the light shine on the great things our students and teachers are doing. I like to lead from within the group. There are few decisions affecting the school that I make on my own. The majority of the time I will consult with the teachers to see what their thoughts are first. I feel I can make the decision, but they are the ones that have to do it. If I collect input from them, then I know “it” has a better chance of being a successful implementation. Whatever “it” may be. I know that sometimes I have to be the one to make the decision, but if I can consult with even a few teachers first, I will.

I still enjoyed being in the classroom with my students, I left the classroom because I felt like as a principal I would be able to have a greater impact on my students than I did as a teacher. School needs to be fun for the students and staff. If it is a place they dread coming to, then their performance will show that. My motto is “If I cannot have fun, then I don’t want to do it any longer.” Every day we need to find a reason to smile. Something good happens every day, we just have to look for it.

I lead because I feel like that is what I am called to do. This is not a job for me. I am blessed that I get to get up every day and come in to play school. It is not work, it is enjoyable.

Until next time……….what drives you to do what you do?

Published by

Tom Stoner

Christian, Principal, Husband, Father, Grandfather. I enjoy fishing, camping, reading, golf, and spending time with family (not necessarily in that order)

One thought on “Why I Lead #SAVMP”

Leave a Reply

